Skip Navigation LinksFoundation / Scholarships & Awards / Individual Opportunities / Student Writing Competition

Student Writing Competition - 2010 Winners

The ASIS Foundation has the distinct honor of presenting awards to four students who competed in the 2010 Student Writing Competition. The competition, which is administered annually by the ASIS Foundation in conjunction with the ASIS Academic programs Council presents winner and honorable mention awards at both the undergraduate and graduate level.

Graduate student Alan W. Forbes took top honors for his paper entitled "Protecting Intangible Assets". A student at Eastern Kentucky University, Forbes is studying Safety, Security, and Emergency Management. Honorable mention went to Kara M. Monroe, as graduate student at Southwestern College. Monroe, who is earning her MS in Security Administration, submitted a paper entitled "Improving Security's Image".

University of Massachusetts Lowell undergrad Jennifer Castano addressed challenges in securing cyberspace in the 21st century in her winning paper. A bi-lingual honor student, Castano is pursuing a BS in Criminal Justice/Homeland Security. Undergraduate Honorable Mention winner Catherine Di Cesare, a student at Algonquin College, submitted a paper entitled "Security's Final Frontier". Di Cesare is pursuing a BS in Corporate Security and Risk Management.

The graduate-level winner receives a cash award of $1,500 and the undergraduate winner receives $1,000. In addition to cash prizes, both winners receive a complimentary registration to attend the ASIS 57th Annual Seminar and Exhibits in Orlando, FL taking place September 19-22, 2011. Honorable Mention Award winners receive $500 in cash.